Greentech Festival: innovative solutions against water pollution by plastic

For the second time the environmental foundation is participating in the GREENTECH FESTIVAL, a trade fair about green technologies and sustainable lifestyle from June 16-18 in Berlin.

06/18/2021 Reading Time: 1 min

Once again it is designed as a hybrid event due to the pandemic, a combination of elements live on site with an exhibition, panel discussions and boot camps as well as digital elements for visitors who want to experience the fair virtually.

 

Again this year we are presenting a selection of our projects that fit perfectly with the subject of the Greentech Festival. This time we are concerned with protecting water from pollution with plastic. With the CollectiX garbage collection boat, we have started an initiative with the start-up everwave and the cosmetics manufacturer BABOR, which aims to remove plastic waste from rivers before it ends up in the sea. The start of our joint initiative was a cleanup mission in Serbia on the Danube, which is one of the most polluted rivers in Europe. For ten days, the everwave team was able to collect around 12 tons of waste along the Danube, including around 3,200 kilograms of pure plastic, which corresponds to around 110,340 PET bottles.

Microplastics is also becoming an increasing environmental burden. A large fraction of microplastics that enter the environment comes from tire wear when driving a car. Therefore, the Audi Environmental Foundation is funding a project with the Technical University of Berlin, investigating a modular filter for road gullies. A multi-stage filter system is intended to prevent microplastics and other particles of different sizes from entering the sewer system and the waterways. In addition, an intelligent networking concept including parameters such as weather forecast, traffic conditions and street cleaning ensure that the pollutants can be removed from the road before they are washed into the sewer together with rain water.

 

The GREEN AWARDS ceremony will take place on the last day of the GREENTECH FESTIVAL with Audi as patron. We are proud that one of our project partners made it to the finals in the “Youngsters” category: Moritz Hamberger. His project is developing a process how fine chemicals and alternative fuels can be obtained from microalgae.

URBANFILTER: Filtering out microplastics where they are created

Greenovation 03/22/2022

URBANFILTER: Filtering out microplastics where they are created

In the URBANFILTER project, the Audi Environmental Foundation and the TU of Berlin are developing filters for road gullies. Thus environmentally harmful particles such as tire wear particles do not end up in waterways.

Read more
Joint initiative for clean rivers with everwave, BABOR BEAUTY GROUP and Ferry Porsche Foundation
Joint initiative for clean rivers with everwave, BABOR BEAUTY GROUP and Ferry Porsche Foundation

Responsibility 11/06/2022

Joint initiative for clean rivers with everwave, BABOR BEAUTY GROUP and Ferry Porsche Foundation

The mission of the garbage collection boat CollectiX on the river Danube kicks off.

Read more

Greentech Festival: innovative Lösungen gegen Gewässer­verschmutzung durch Plastik

Bereits zum zweiten Mal ist die Audi-Umweltstiftung mit einem Stand auf dem GREENTECH FESTIVAL vertreten, einer Messe rund um grüne Technologien und nachhaltigen Lebensstil vom 16. bis 18. Juni 2021 in Berlin.

18.06.2021 Lesezeit: 1 min

Genau wie im vergangenen Jahr ist sie Corona-bedingt als Hybridveranstaltung konzipiert, einer Kombination aus Programmelementen vor Ort mit einer Ausstellung, Podiumsdiskussionen und Bootcamps sowie digitalen Elementen für Besucher_innen, die die Messe virtuell erleben wollen.

Auch in diesem Jahr sind wir wieder mit einer Auswahl unserer Projekte dabei, die perfekt zum Themenkomplex der Messe passen. Diesmal geht es bei uns um den Schutz von Gewässern vor der Verunreinigung mit Plastik. Mit dem Müllsammelboot CollectiX haben wir mit dem Start-up everwave und dem Kosmetikhersteller BABOR eine Initiative gestartet, die zum Ziel hat, Plastikmüll aus Flüssen zu entfernen, bevor er auf diesem Weg ins Meer gelangt. Der erste Einsatz des von uns gemeinsam geförderten Bootes war eine Cleanup-Mission auf der Donau, die zu den am stärksten verschmutzten Flüssen in Europa gehört. Zehn Tage lang konnte das Team von everwave in Serbien entlang der Donau rund zwölf Tonnen Müll sammeln, davon rund 3.200 Kilogramm reines Plastik. Das entspricht ca.110.340 PET-Flaschen.

Aber auch Mikroplastik stellt eine zunehmende Belastung für die Umwelt dar. Eine große Fraktion an Mikroplastik, das in die Umwelt gelangt, stammt aus dem Reifenabrieb beim Autofahren. Deshalb fördert die Audi-Umweltstiftung ein Projekt mit der TU Berlin, die an einem modularen Filter für den Straßenablauf forscht. Ein mehrstufiges Filtersystem soll verhindern, dass das Mikroplastik aus dem Reifenabrieb und andere Partikel unterschiedlicher Größe in die Kanalisation und dann in die Gewässer gelangen. Außerdem soll ein intelligentes Vernetzungskonzept, das Einflüsse wie die Wettervorhersage, das Verkehrsaufkommen und die Straßenreinigung mit einbezieht, dazu führen, dass bereits vor einem Regenereignis die Schadstoffe von der Straße entfernt werden können.

Am letzten Tag des GREENTECH FESTIVAL findet mit der Audi als Schirmherr die Verleihung der GREEN AWARDS statt. Wir sind stolz, dass es einer unserer Projektpartner in der Kategorie „Youngsters“ bis ins Finale geschafft hat: Moritz Hamberger. Mit seinem Projekt hat er ein Verfahren entwickelt, mit dessen Hilfe aus Mikroalgen Feinchemikalien und alternative Kraftstoffe gewonnen werden können.

URBANFILTER: Mikroplastik herausfiltern, wo es entsteht

Greenovation 18.06.2021

URBANFILTER: Mikroplastik herausfiltern, wo es entsteht

Im Projekt URBANFILTER entwickeln die Audi-Umweltstiftung und die TU Berlin Filter für den Straßenablauf. Umweltschädliche Partikel wie Reifenabrieb gelangen so nicht in Gewässer.

Mehr erfahren
Gemeinsame Initiative für saubere Flüsse mit BABOR und everwave
Gemeinsame Initiative für saubere Flüsse mit BABOR und everwave

Verantwortung 21.04.2021

Gemeinsame Initiative für saubere Flüsse mit BABOR und everwave

Die Mission des CollectiX Müllsammelboot startet auf der Donau.

Mehr erfahren